Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog Tech Info Tech Forums

Search our site:    
 Cart  | Project List | Order Status | Help    
Go Back   Pelican Parts Technical BBS > 2- BMW Forums > BMW Technical Forums > 101 Projects Discussion Forum: BMW 3-Series

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Newbee here...

Hello all,

My name is Carl and i am new to the E36 forum. I recently purchased a 1996 E36 to use as a daily driver. I have a classic 911 that i was using as a daily driver since my daughter took over my old 325is. So I decided to purchase another BMW. The car has 140k miles. It is solid and everything works. There are a couple of things.

1. does anyone have a link to a PDF. Owners Manual? The car didn't have one.

2. The lighting on the instrument cluster are out on the fuel and temp gauge sides. the center lighting for the tach and speedo are working. Can someone direct me to "a how to replace dash gauge lighting?

3. I need to see pics of a fully lit cockpit so I know which controls have lighting and which ones dont.

Thanks in advance for your input

Carl
Old 05-28-2012, 12:48 PM
  Recommend this thread for the PelicanWiki    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

I don't have a pdf but I have the manual for a '97 328 if you want me to look anything up or scan selected pages. I also have the audio cassette that came with the manual but as I recall, it doesn't add anything that is not covered in the manual.

This Pelican website sells the bulbs for the instrument cluster and as I recall, has a good pictorial how to explaining how to remove the cluster and replace the bulbs. It is not hard, but be careful with the cluster and with the screws that hold it in. The plugs and the screw holes are fragile.

The most common bulbs to burn out other than the cluster are the one by the light switch (not important, tough to snap in and out) and the ones above the clock and computer display (easy to replace).