Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > BMW Forums > BMW Technical Forums > 101 Projects Discussion Forum: BMW 3-Series

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Garage
Building a e36 chump car

Hi, Im new to the BMW side of Pelican, been on the Porsche side for a long time.

I picked up a 94 325 is ( what ths heck does 'is' mean? ) S for sport suspension right? Coupe, manual trans.

The rules for Chumpcar say that this car needs to remain stock. I can replace bushings with new oem stuff and same for suspension. I was looking at some of the parts ( suspension kits ) on pelican.

Being that I dont know anything about BMW. Im looking to this forum to make some suggestions as to what you would do for a e36 chump car. I know all about doing the maintenance as I built a Eagle Talon for chump car ( which I still have but I might turn it into a rally cross car since its AWD ).

Tricks, secrets, know problems. What parts would be considered 'stock' that I could upgrade to from what I have.

If you have any advice for this build let me know. Im not the best mechanic in the world but I do track a few cars. This should be a easy build, cage, electrical cut off, seat and then maintenance like replacing worn bushings, etc.

There is a spare motor and trans from a 1992 525 car available locally. I have to research it to see if its a direct swap as Im hoping they are the same parts. Can anyone confirm?

Last edited by aftermath; 02-19-2013 at 06:37 AM..
Old 02-19-2013, 06:23 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

Garage
Got the options from the dealer.

s214a Stability Control - does this man also abs? good news
s704a m sports suspension - good news
nothing about lsd so Im guessing I didn't get that option with this car