View Single Post
Even a Bad day is good

Garage
1972 911 gas tank rust cleaning

Cleaning a gas tank in the 72. i want to reuse the tank as it is in nice shape. However It was sitting empty for many years.
Here is what I tried and found out while cleaning it.

i first put fastened it to an engine stand, and put in 100 3/8" nuts and spun it a by hand. i removed and installed in a different position and spun it again.
Suggestion: build a rack to hold this with some pivot points and then you can spin and reposition. If i cleaned tanks for a living i would build a motorized device. See you tube.
So this knocked off any loose rust (suprisingly not much) but you need to get all of the nuts out of the tankwhich is not as easy as you think it would be to do.
Figuring that this was goign to take a long time.

I called a rad shop to ask them to boil it and they said the only way they work on a tank is if they boil it, cut it open, clean it out, reweld it and then seal the inside with some type of coating. The tank is in Great exterior shape so i am not inclined to have them cut it open. The cost was about 400 bucks which is worth it but I was not keen on having the tank welded.

I then researched other methods.:
por-15 and derivatives used various chemicals to clean and then seal the tank. There are plenty of reviews on how great these are but other reviews indicate that if the process is not followed exactly and if the tanks is not completly absolutely bone dry and clean then the sealers will not work. The curves in a 72 tank with the indentation for the spare tire etc, to me would create problem areas that unless you filled the tank to the fill spout with cleaner, etcher etc, adn then sealed it by flipping it every xx minutes then it would not be a success and that would be a mess to clean.