View Single Post
82 911 SC - Ancora Imparo

Garage
Finished installing my CR front fuse panel and here are a couple thoughts:

First of all, this fuse panel is a sweet piece of work. It is very nicely made and looks beautiful. I love the integrated headlight relays and the diagnostic LEDs.

This project took me way longer than it should have. I read all the reviews and guidance prior to the install. All of the steps seem pretty straightforward. Although I am not a professional mechanic this type of electrical work is certainly in my comfort zone. I suffered some of the same problems that other people did: Very short wires, and too many wires in some fuse ways. My car (1982 SC) does not have any additional equipment like a crazy stereo system or alarm, so my install should be fairly typical.

I tried to follow the process set forth in the instructions by keeping the new panel in front of the old and transferring each wire in each fuse way on the bottom. Several of them were just too short to even make the connection. So I was forced to label those wires and move on. I thought that the upper wire transfer would go easier. Right at the beginning I could tell that it would not. So I ended up removing and labeling all the wires on the top row and removing the fuse panels all together. Then I screwed in the new fuse panel to the bracket. I then connected the short wires from the bottom that would not previously reach.