View Single Post

apologies if ye all know this already, but as it hasn't actually been stated yet, so if you indulge me a bit here.............

I sell Torque analysing kit and torque wrenches, both manual and air as well as electric, to a variety of industries. Some of my customers are subcontractors to automotive industry, so whilst not being a scientist, I have garnered a fair bit of info over the years. It never fails to amaze me the number of 'professionals' who have no comprehension of torque when they call me up to help with a problem they have, say, on the production line.

Torque readings on ANY wrench, are, in fact, useless!! No, really !! If you follow this, you'll see why:
The basic tenet of tightening a fastener, is to clamp two pieces together. The strength of the finished assembly (like a big-end cap on a conrod, for example), is contingent entirely on how tightly clamped together those two pieces are.

Now, at the design stage of the rod, someone determined that it needed a certain amount of clamping force to keep the thing working. But, to measure the clamping force under the head of the bolt required a special measuring device - a load cell washer, connected to a display unit - or to measure the stretch requires bolt-length measuring equipment. The dictates of production machining, space etc, laid down, for example, that they use an M8 bolt and nut. To achieve the required clamping force required to keep the two parts together, the bolt manufacturer has a table you can look up to give you a suitably strong bolt. What happens when you use it is that you are going to stretch the bolt. This is fine in the R & D dept, but out on the floor it's not going to happen - it'll interfere with the ability to make and sell cars. Not forgetting of course, that Porsche build a 911 engine in under 90 minutes. Complete.