View Single Post
Forced Induction Junkie

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by copbait73 View Post
Iím not a CSI investigator but I have extensive background in turbos and tend to get unhinged when every engine problem on a turbocharged engine eventually gets blamed on the turbocharger.
Well, get unhinged because this camshaft failure was due coking in the turbocharger.

Quote:
The thread starts with describing an extreme thermal excursion for the entire engine. Now in this situation the turbo is happily idling away and not exposed to conditions to form varnish much less hard coke. However being an air-cooled engine if the oil is at an excessive temperature so are the head temperatures.
So you are telling me that the ambient temperature of a turbo bearing shaft "happily idling away" is lower than the oil (230 degrees) that's being circulated in this situation? Remember, the reason for the elevated temps in the engine oil is due to the volume of oil being circulated through the engine is insufficient. Same applies for the turbocharger. Varnish is going to generated on the turbocharger shaft in a condition such as this with dino oil.

Quote:
Everyone who has experience with non turboed air-cooled Porsches, aircraft or the lowly VW knows you will find coke chunks in the oil strainers. Without turbos, how can this be?
Who said it can't?

Quote:
Because they are air-cooled and the coke is being formed in the extreme temperature areas localized around the exhaust valves and moving outward as the mineral based oils are being cooked. There is also the very real problem of all turboed engines; blow by. This forms similar accumulations in the vent hoses, oil tank, etc.
The used oil delivered by the DRY SUMP PUMP is returned to the OIL FILTER before going into the holding tank. So anything gathered from the engine's sump is going to be filtered before residing in the holding tank. The turbo sump pump is another matter all together.