View Single Post

I am not an expert but there are couple of ways to go so identifying your goals up front can save you money.

Irregardless, the best opertunity is fixing the restriction after the turbo. Get the lowest restriction muffler you can handle. This will make for faster turbo spool, increase effecency, and deliver more HP. My favorit is a bit SS glass pack that exits on the left side.

I belive the stock heat exchangers are a solid set up and do not have the potental to crack that the after market shorties may have.

I also suspect most the of the reduction in lag attribuited to the high dollar systems is in the muffler not the short tube length.

The added power attribuited from the shortie systems I suspect is really from the ineffecent wast gate circut that tricks the WG into delivering more boost.

Next is the Turbo. This is where you should decide what your goals are.

A larger turbo like a K27HF has a biger compressor wheel and can make monster HP, will run a bit more effecent at higher rpms, and will have a softer and latter boost onset.

A K27-7200 from the factory 91-94 C2 Turbos is great turbo up to around 375HP and it but comes in with less lag and much harder boost onset. More fun in the street I would say but no bragging rights.

A better intercooler is expensive but is free HP. I also alows you to run more boost for even more HP. Just adding an intercooler can be good for 20-30hp with out adding any boost.

With the lower restriction muffler, K27-7200, a .9 bar spring and a better IC you can have a very nice running car that works will with the stock cam, ports and compression.

Note that changing cams helps the motor breath better as dose larger intake ports. However, this is not totally reqired for big HP.