Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Technical BBS > 1- Porsche Technical Forums > 911 / 930 Turbo & Super Charging Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

930 Brake Job Tech Article

I just thougt I'd share my brake job write up because there isn't many 930 specific tech articles. I'm NO BRAKE EXPERT, this is just how we did it. All I can say is WOW they made a HUGE difference.

930 Brake Job:

My rotors were past due, so I did a complete removal and replacement of the rotors and pads along with adding SS brake lines and removing the dust shields. So with the help of Wayne Walter (Oh Haha) and Randy Doine we got started.

First off, start by jacking up your car and supporting it.

Remove the wheels.

Spray PB Blaster or WD40 on your hard brake lines that go into the caliper and your caliper bolts and let it soak in good.

Remove the pad wearing sensors.

Remove the pad retaining springs and remove the pads

Next unhook the hard brake line that goes into the caliper. Place a pan to catch the brake fluid.

Unbolt the caliper and remove. The fronts have a couple of spacers between the caliper and the mount.

On the rear:
Remove the spacers using a rubber mallet and putty knife and PB lube to separate.

Remove the two screws that hold the rotor in place. Hand held impact driver can be helpful here if they are stuck.

Then the rotors slide right off.

On the front:
Remove dust cover. I used a slide hammer with a piece of threaded rod and some nuts and washers. It came right off.

Remove wheel bearing retaining nut by inserting a long allen wrench through the hub housing access hole into the retaining nut set bolt.

Unscrew the wheel bearing retaining nut.
Pull off the rotor being careful to catch the outer wheel bearing and washer.
Remove the rotor from the hub