Pelican Parts Forums

Pelican Parts Forums (http://forums.pelicanparts.com/)
-   911 / 930 Turbo & Super Charging Forum (http://forums.pelicanparts.com/911-930-turbo-super-charging-forum/)
-   -   Welding Question (http://forums.pelicanparts.com/911-930-turbo-super-charging-forum/389932-welding-question.html)

DSPTurtle 01-29-2008 08:53 AM

Welding Question

I got really sick of the wastegate not making any loud noises when it opened. So, last weekend I unbolted the wastegate muffler and went for a drive to see if i could tell a difference... wow, fell in love immediately. To rectify the situation I cut open the wastegate muffler and cut out the baffle that was on the inside. I am now in the process of welding the can back together. I am new to this world of welding but I have been doing my practice exercises like a good apprentice. My biggest question at this point is whether or not I need a shielding gas or if flux cored wire is sufficient? The can appears to be some type of stainless steel but I am not really sure if the gas bottle is a must. I know there are some serious welders out here in 930 world... thanks in advance for the advice.

sand_man 01-29-2008 09:04 AM

I'm not a welder (well not since a high school small engine shop class), but it's on my list of things to learn how to do, well.

One tip I've learned from other, more experienced people, is that you should always disconnect the battery of your car if you are doing any welding on the car itself (sway bar mounts, sheet metal, etc) as the voltage from the welder can roast your electrical harness. I realize that you probably have the pipe off the car, but just FYI.

DSPTurtle 01-29-2008 09:13 AM