Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Technical BBS > 1- Porsche Technical Forums > 911 / 930 Turbo & Super Charging Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply
Innocent Bystander

Garage
930 rear brake vents....

The previous owner installed rear brake vents on my 930 and I'd like to get rid of them. It doesn't have slant fenders (although I've considered trading my fenders for some) or boxed rockers, so the vents don't really go with the car.

I'm interested in options available for replacing them with sheet metal. I have no reservations using the plasma cutter or the welder but since I'm no professional panel beater, I can't see myself being completely successful fabricating replacement panels with opposing compound curves.

The car's currently disassembled and being preped for paint. Before I shoot it, I'd like to get rid of the vents but I'm not quite sure how to go about it.

Any suggestions on how to patch the holes short of buying rear quarters and cutting the pieces out?

Thanks,
Doug
Old 12-30-2008, 06:20 PM
  Pelican Parts Technical Article Directory    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
Crotchety Old Bastard

Garage
Doug, that would be my directive to add some 13" flairs, ha!

I don't see any way around replacing the quarters so it looks perfect when finished.
Off topic but I have a buddy in Decatur who is looking to buy a 930 if you opt to sell rather than R&R.
Old 12-30-2008, 07:37 PM
  Pelican Parts Technical Article Directory    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)

Doug- if your still interested in the fenders let me know hahaha
2008 C6/Z51 Corvette
Old 12-30-2008, 09:07 PM
  Pelican Parts Technical Article Directory    Reply With Quote #3 (permalink)
Innocent Bystander

Garage
Brian,