Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > 911 / 930 Turbo & Super Charging Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

EFI turbo build?

I'm going to build myself a nice EFI turbo engine. I'm not new to building turbo engines but I am new to porsche engines.
I'm in a position where I can chose to build it on a 3,2 engine or I can start out with a 930 3,3 turbo engine. I would like some advise as to what engine would be best for my plans..

No matter which of the engines I chose, I'm planning the following:
- Change out pistons+cylinders
- Nice set of aftermarket turbo manifolds with a GT35 turbo
- EFI with some aftermarket ECU
- Big intercooler
- lots of other things..

Do I go with the 3,3 turbo engine and change for 3,2 intake manifolds plus all of the above.. Or is it better to use the 3,2 engine as starting point..?
I understand that the crank + other parts are the same in the 2 engines.. But not sure if there is anything else making the 3,3 turbo engine a better starting point?
There is maybe the heads being more heat resistant in the turbo engine.. but the 3,2 heads flowing better..

Advise needed from people with experience in such builds
Old 02-04-2009, 06:38 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

my goal with the build is a very reliable street engine with 500hp
Old 02-04-2009, 06:43 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)