Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > 911 / 930 Turbo & Super Charging Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Upgrades for 86 Turbo

Since I am completely new to the Turbo world...I am thinking about buying an I/C and a muffler for my car but I don't necessarily want to buy new. What I/C's would you guys recommend, I am thinking a ruf I/C would be nice and open to muffler brands. What should I expect to pay? Also, should I also do headers and think about upgrading the Turbo....
Here is something for you guys to laugh about...I've had several fast cars in the past, I've also had Horsepower monsters and that's not what I am after...I am mostly wanting to free up the engine from all of the heat the the stock system creates...ideas? thoughts? In other words, I haven't been bitten by the mod bug
Old 03-15-2009, 07:36 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

Rarlyl8 has some headers/exhaust/turbos for a good price and mb911 (M&K) has some nice mufflers. Both are valued contributors to the 930 forum. Look in the classified forum for some used stuff including intercoolers.
14 535i M Sport
Old 03-15-2009, 11:08 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)
Crotchety Old Bastard

Garage
How far you go is of course budget driven. Fortunately you can pay as you go with the 930 as most enhancement is bolt-on.
My general guide is to start at the tailpipe and work your way to the engine. Muffler, turbo, intercooler, more boost, headers, cams, headwork in that order. The most noticeable difference occurs with a turbo and muffler change.