Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > 911 / 930 Turbo & Super Charging Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Transmission oil change dumb question

This is my first time changing the transmission fluid. Does the oil lube the differential too since it is a transaxle? If not is there a separate drain and fill plug? I looked at the manual and it was unclear. Will 1 gal of swepco do the job?

Thanks
Old 02-02-2010, 08:15 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
Max Sluiter

Garage
Same oil for differential and gearbox. Make sure you use the correct Swepco if you have a limited slip differential. They require special additives for the friction plates to do their job.

Suspension by Rebel Racing, Serviced by TLG Auto, Brakes by PMB Performance
http://www.flickr.com/photos/max_911_fahrer/
Old 02-02-2010, 09:28 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)
Smart quod bastardus

Garage
Flieger, What is the correct Swepco for lsd?
I always thought Swepco 201 was good for either style tranny.

Sorry to hijack the thread, but in answer to your question 1 gallon should cover it with a few drops left over. Just fill the tranny till it just leaks out past the overflow/fill port.....
1979 930 Turbo....3.4L, 7.5to1 comp, SC cams, B&B intercooler, Snow Perf water/meth injection, Rarlyl8 headers, Garret GTX turbo, 36mm ported intakes, Innovate Auxbox/LM-1, custom Manually Adjustable wastegate housing (0.8-1.1bar),--running 0.7bar max
---"When you're racing it's life! Anything else either before or after, is just waiting"
Old 02-03-2010, 05:40 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #3 (permalink)