Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > 911 / 930 Turbo & Super Charging Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Garage
Portable Car Lift and Engine Drop ?

I am looking at buying a lift for my car in order to do more work on it. As expected there are a few on craigslist but since I am just starting to get into working on my car I am still a little of a newbie.
Never having removed my engine before, how much clearance would I need from a lift in order to do it?
There are a couple of portable lifts for sale but they only lift the car 30 inches, which doesn't seem like it would be enough to get the engine out. Would it be enough or do I need a larger lift?
87 930 Super Cup (964) Cams , Andial K27 7200 Turbo, Andial Intercooler, Twin Plug, Andial Fuel Enrichment System, Carillo Rods, Mahle Pistons, Raceware head studs, Adjustable Turbo, Ruf Wheels, plus much more...
Old 02-20-2010, 04:27 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
OFF THE BOOST PIPE NOW...

30" probably wouldn't do it unless you remove the rear bumper. Even that might be tight.
Old 02-20-2010, 06:25 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)
MEMBER # 930

Make sure you use top quality jack stands !!!!! I take more time to be safe when the car is up high wooden blocks and the tires and wheels under the pan. Be safe
Old 02-20-2010, 08:46 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #3 (permalink)
Forced Induction Junkie

Garage