Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > 1- Porsche Technical Forums > 911 / 930 Turbo & Super Charging Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Leakdown-what's OK?

Folks-

I'm looking at an '87 930 with around 65k miles that looks cherry but the leakdown on the PPI came back with three jugs at or over 10% leakdown. Compression was from 152-160 psi.

Is this reasonable or is the motor due for some refitting?

Thanks.
Old 04-09-2010, 02:54 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
Porsche-Poor

Garage
Has the car been sitting at all? Wondering if it needs a good romp and retest. While I'm no expert, i believe you want to see consistent compression readings across all cylinders and think leak down results under 10% for a motor with that many miles, what's the service history? Good luck with the purchase.
1980 911 SC Weissach-regrettably sold
1975 911S-sold but not forgotten
Old 04-09-2010, 08:16 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)
Wo ist die Rennstrecke?

Was the test done on a cold or warm motor?

It really depends on where the leaking is coming from. If it is coming from the valves (listen to the intake or exhaust), it "could" be built up carbon on the valves and seats - not too bad. If the leak can be heard through the crankcase breather, then it's rings.

I would like to know what the other cylinders had. If all others are less than 5% and these three are more than 10%, it could be a carbon issue. If they are all within a couple percent of each other, then it could be normal wear and tear on a well used motor.