Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > 911 / 930 Turbo & Super Charging Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Zork Install

Hello to the group. I was here about 2 years ago when I first found Pelican online. I came here with oil leaks and intent on fixing them. Life got in the way and I have barely driven my car since then.

I have a 79' 930 I bought in '98. A CA smog check forced me to get the car out and rather than fix the leaks from 2 years ago I instead ordered a Zork tube from Brian at RarlyL8. After I have fun for a month or so I will finally try and repair the oil leaks.

I'll post some pictures of the install for you ( I know everyone likes pics!) but here's a description. I am a computer professional with minimal mechanical abilities. I spent maybe 1-1.5 hours removing the rear valence and heat shield. Took my time (had not jacked the car up in a while) and I have minimal tools so trips to Sears were inevitable. I then sprayed all the nuts connecting the turbo to the muffler with WD40 and sprayed the nuts around the wastegate.

Next day I (multiple trips for tools, lunch, etc) spent about 4-5 hours getting the stock muffler and stock wastegate piping off of the car. Could probably do this in half the time now that I understand the process. A few of the nuts were pretty difficult to remove until I figured out the best approach.

I installed the small wastegate dump from RarlyL8 and Zork in less than an hour. Dropped the car to the ground and laughed when I started it. I may have to plan exits and entrances to my neighborhood that are not too early and not too late FYI...the rear valence has not been reinstalled yet. Should be done tomorrow night.