Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > 911 / 930 Turbo & Super Charging Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average.
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply
Desi Porsche

Garage
Send a message via MSN to rswamy
1984 911 Carrera, 3.2 Turbo conversion

I am brand new to the hobby, I just got an 84 911 Carrera, 3.2. Good condition 70k original miles. My first project is to put a turbo in it. Don't know where to start. Any input will be appreciated.
Old 05-04-2010, 10:32 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

Garage
Congratulations. Not to be a "wise guy" BUT , many of us where there years ago,I don't have the links but if you search 3.2 turbo conversions you will find a lot of info, this project will boil down to two simple questions 1- How much Horsepower you want. 2- How much money do we have The rest is easy
Old 05-04-2010, 12:51 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)

Juan is right, there is a fair amount of info on this and it depends on your goals.

However, I still love to bench build so I will share my two cents worth of what I would do which is different from most.

Most build a 'blow thru', I would follow what Porsche did with the 944 Turbo and do a 'suck through'.

On the exhaust side, get a J pipe off a euro or late 930, a K27-7200 turbo, and any 930 muffler of your choice. Would buy a new Wast Gate with a .7 bar spring. Maybe a stock 930 WG at .8 bar. This makes for a stock bolt on install with your Carrera heat exchangers.

Order a set of J&E pistons at 7/1 to 8/1 compression. Install new pistons w rings, have the heads worked (or at least the exhaust guides done), and upgrade the rod bolts when in there.