Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > 1- Porsche Technical Forums > 911 / 930 Turbo & Super Charging Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply
Tuttobono

Oil Cooler installed at engine wing

Has anyone ever had experience with installing an oil cooler in the tail wing over the engine?
This was suggested to me but am not sure of how viable this is.
I would imagine there would be cooling loss because of the short travel and perhaps less air flow than at the front wing.

Any experiences or ideas on this?
1973 Fiat Spider 124
Old 07-08-2010, 11:00 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

I have no experience but am just loaded with opinions! Might work to cool the oil, but the trade off would be the heated air from the oil cooler now being introduced to the engine compartment and the intercooler, resulting in a hotter/less dense air charge to the intake manifold = performance reduction and/or greater chance of detonation at WOT.

Remember, opinions are like arse-holes, everyone has one.
Mark H. 1987 930, GP White, Wevo shifter, Borla exhaust, stock everything else. The result of a massive Pelicanite good will fire recovery effort. Truely an open book, ready for the slippery slopes to modification.
Old 07-08-2010, 12:03 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)

Location: Reno NV, Bay Area during most weeks,, Kids still in NH
Send a message via AIM to 9dreizig
+1 on what Mark said, in addition high center of gravity, more weight in the back. running it up to the front serves to balance out the weight and the lines provide quite a bit of cooling on the way to the cooler. Additionally it's tough to beat the air flow on the nose of the car