Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > 911 / 930 Turbo & Super Charging Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Garage
My 1978 wont start...help

Hi

Haven driven just about 35 miles in my (to me: new) 1978 930.

I drove it yesterday afternon. It drives fine.

Today about 10am I was headed out. The car cranks, but it does not fire up.

It smells a bit of fuel -I did not touch the gas pedal...I really didn't

I am new to 930, but not new to 911 (Carrera 3.0)

Please don't tell me to take out the plugs..., since I just landed here in the US and tools/garage are not readily at hand.

Suggestions please.

Jesper

Last edited by jsveb; 09-30-2010 at 10:02 AM.. Reason: spelling
Old 09-30-2010, 09:42 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

Garage
Hi guys

I know I am impatient here, but imagine if you had bought the car of your dreams, and only got to drive it for one day (35 miles total) and then it wouldn't start.

I need help -please.

Jesper
Old 09-30-2010, 10:24 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)

Check for spark first, Pull the coil wire from the distributor cap and carefully hold it(using insulated pliers) about 1/2" from ground while someone cranks the motor, Let us know what you find.

Lou / AERO DYNAMICS
Old 09-30-2010, 10:35 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #3 (permalink)

Garage
Jesper - did you check the sticky for my car won't start? Lots of good ideas there!

Check the obvious things first - fuel pump fuse, overboost switch etc. Who knows how old your fuses are, and they can look OK at first glance but may be crap (as I recently found out!).