Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > 911 / 930 Turbo & Super Charging Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply
Grappler

Garage
Joining the boost club.

Well not really....I've been running the Paxton SC for the last 4 years with great success. The Paxton truly add's significant power while not changing the overall feel of the car. The best analogy is that it seems like your 3.2 is now a 3.8, building power in the same linear fashion as a big n/a motor. The problem is that we all get greedy and always want more, so with that said I decided to convert to turbo and get that out of the way. Phase 2 will be sourcing a set of 3.3 turbo piston/cylinders and eventually increase boost. Where the Paxton is perfect for a bolt on 6-7 psi, the turbo allows room to grow additionally there is no parastic loss and the power delivery is not linear. (we'll see how theory comports with practical once I complete the project) So, armed with the knowledge from this board and a few outside sources I have embarked on the Turbo journey. A few things I decided to do differently right off the bat: Ditch the old AFM and convert to MAF. I know that this is like trading in an old 80's apple desktop for a early 2000 pc but the next best option is a stand alone ECU which is not in the budget at this point in time. I think the MAF is a significant improvment over the barn door mechanical technology. I will use the split second MAF conversion with adjustable air/fuel ratios in conjuntion with a new BEGI rising rate FPR. For ignition retard the common solution seemed to be the stage one Protomotive chip, but in all honesty this seemed like antiquated technology so I decided to go with an MSD 6BTM with boost retard ign control. Again, not as good as a pressure sensing system but much