Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Technical BBS > 1- Porsche Technical Forums > 911 / 930 Turbo & Super Charging Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

sunroof or non sunroof?

So, after the past 4 months of being straight out with work and riding, I now have a window to get some work done on the car new member 930 project . I am considering deleting the sunroof, mainly to shave some weight and gain some head room for the cage (and the current roof doesn't work). Also I am planning on shaving the rain gutters to clean up the car a bit.

My question is, what's the difficulty in deleting the sunroof? Is there any structural differences under the headliner between the cars with the sunroof and the ones without? I have a good fabrication background and I am a competent welder, just want to get some input from anyone who has done this.

Thanks in advance for any input.

Brendon
Old 09-06-2011, 03:29 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

Location: Reno NV, Bay Area during most weeks,, Kids still in NH
Send a message via AIM to 9dreizig
Talk to Damon up in Sunapee he's the best body guy in New England, he's on the board. We removed Chris Benets sunroof when we re-built his car I think the real difficulty is welding without warping.
91 Spec Miata (yeah I race a chick car)
"life"ll kill ya" Warren Zevon
Old 09-06-2011, 03:43 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)

I am wondering if there is a support that runs below sunroof area on non-SR cars. I am going to use a sunroof panel as the donor metal and run a 1" (24.5mm for the euro guys ) strip of 20 gauge steel and cross stitch to keep the heat down.

Do you know what Damon's username is here on this forum?