Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > 911 / 930 Turbo & Super Charging Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

De-cambered ball joints

Im putting together a 79' 930 for the track to do some amateur racing. It's my first time and I'm wonder if anyone would recommend using the de-cambered ball joints. Is it really necessary for the track since I'm not planning to do any autocross.

Old 04-16-2012, 03:51 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
Non User

Garage
Typically on the track you'll want as much negative camber you can get. But first you may want to spend some time with a shop that will do your track alignment and see how much neg camber you can get out of your existing setup, then make adjustments based on tires, suspension, even venues you plan to race. Talk with the "fast" guys with similar cars, see what they're doing. If you're starting out, make your investment in seat time, as you progress you'll find out what you like and upgrade from there.
'76 Turbo Carrera #311 - Factory LSD, Sport Seats
'75 914 GT clone project
'71 914 track car
Old 04-16-2012, 08:08 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)
Smart quod bastardus

Garage
I do alot of DE events with my 79 930. Have been for the last 5 years with this car and 10 years prior with a 1979 911SC.
I never used the decambered ball joints becuase I worry about messing with such a highly loaded and critical component. I dont like changing to another aftermarket part with such potential to my safety without seeing extensive testing and validation from an OEM or the like.