Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > 911 / 930 Turbo & Super Charging Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Garage
Wrapping the headers

In my first 911, I wrapped the headers to keep the temps down. I had no problems with this at all....I ran them like this for about 4 years...

Now I have a 930....What is the story on the street for these.....I have seen some wrapped at the race track (Professionals) and still dont have a clear picture with the higher temp exhaust...

Having mentioned that...what about the fiberglass rear bumper....there is no protection from the heat of the muffler or turbo... Is there a heat blanket that someone has used to protect the fiberglass and paint?

Im still learning this 930 stuff...i didnt realize that there is that much of a difference.

Thanks..

1974 Porsche 911 (2003 - 2012)
2000 Boxster S (2006 - 2008)
Old 04-30-2012, 08:03 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
Banned

Here are some previous threads on the subject -

Pro/Con Ceramic Coating or wrapping

Muffler / turbo shield

Turbo blankets?

Exhaust and header wrap

Thermo Tech Header Insulation Wrap
Old 04-30-2012, 08:12 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)

Ceramic. More efficient, looks way better.
Old 05-01-2012, 04:34 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #3 (permalink)
I've gone native

Probably no advantage on a street car.
Old 05-01-2012, 05:47 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #4 (permalink)

Garage
Well not exactly

Those were good links and some of them I did see...