Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > 911 / 930 Turbo & Super Charging Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Permatune fried?

I have an 1987 930 with a permatune ignition. It stopped running the other day while driving. Heard a loud back fire then would turn over but wouldn't start. Pulled a spark plug and no spark. Searched pelican parts and found this link:

Another won't start thread

I unplugged the permatune box and tested the resistance between the pins. Pin 2 to pin 5 had a resistance of >1 ohms. *The other pins tested okay. * "if >1 ohm resistance suggests Defective tach and/or speed relay with fusible damage inside the box". In all honesty I'm kinda new to this but probably haven't tested everything else. (distributor, coil, wires etc...) I just went right to the permatune and it seems to be testing abnormal. Right?

Can anybody explain this to me and more importantly what do I need to do to get my car running? I'm tempted to run out a put a new msd and new coil in there....

Old 07-04-2012, 12:24 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
Certified User

Garage
Panzer, don't automatically assume it is the Permatune unit.
That was my initial reaction as well, but the problem was a combination of two intermittent problems - one with the dreaded green wire, the other with the speed relay under driver's seat.
Permatune have a test procedure on their website. Work through that first.
I swapped CDIs and coils to no effect. I worked through the wiring diagram and the speed relay looked like a likely suspect so I took it apart and cleaned up its dirty terminals. That got me running, but only intermittently.