Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > 911 / 930 Turbo & Super Charging Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 1 votes, 1.00 average.
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

1st time

Hi All,
This is my first time pulling a 911 engine. I have read many posts and the method as described from our host suggests disconnecting the "clutch mechanism" and the "reverse lights". Also I am working on a 1975 model.

Thanks

Old 04-06-2013, 01:57 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

I would think the term "clutch mechanism" would refer to the clutch cable and "reverse lights" would be the wires connecting to the back-up lights switch on the side of the transmission. The operative goal would be to disconnect anything that connects the engine/transmission to the car.
One small detail I might elaborate on is to not remove the shift coupler that connects the shift rod to the selector shaft on the front of the transmission. There is what some refer to as a "grub screw" which is basically a set screw that screws into an indent on the selector shaft. The indent will let you reconnect the shifter rod in the same position it was before. If the clamp is loosened the shifting will probably be messed up after its all back together.
Old 04-07-2013, 12:33 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)

930 prep

My 930 has several issues and I plan to remove the engine for service later this year. My thought was to pull the engine from my 1975 911S in preparation.
It has been many years since I have removed the motor from a rear engine car, probably about 35 years, but I can recall being able to remove a 1600 cc from a bug in less time than the play of 25 minute LP record.