Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > 1- Porsche Technical Forums > 911 / 930 Turbo & Super Charging Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Garage
Turbo Lag

Hi Gentlemen,I am a newbie to the 930 scene, having recently purchased a very nice 1983 R.H.D. 300hp 930 coupe ,so please excuse my inexperience and apparent dumb questions. The car is in great shape and would appear to be in very good health but I am struggling to adapt to the driving style required with a car with such pronounced lag in acceleration and throttle response. Not a lot happens below 4,000 RPM but above that it comes on quite strong all the way to the red-line and with full on acceleration,ie that is shifting at 6,500 RPM,I am getting some lag after selecting the next gear until the turbo spools up again.I would have expected the ( stock ) turbo to be still spooled up at these revs,is this normal? or does my particular car have a fault?

Every thing I am reading indicates I should upgrade to a K27/7200 series turbo,would this mod address the performance issues I have described ? and is this a fairly straightforward bolt-on operation ? as I do not wish to have to dramatically change too many components. Also is this something the average home mechanic can undertake in their garage?

The previous owner told me the car has a 1.0 bar waste-gate spring and I have fitted a free flow "sport muffler" in an attempt to reduce the back pressure. Many thanks.
Old 06-14-2014, 03:45 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

If the turbine housing is machined, it is a bolt-in.
A compressor outlet o-ring adapter and new gaskets are required.
Very much DIY.
email: info@turbokraft.com
http://www.facebook.com/TurboKraft - http://www.instagram.com/TurboKraft