Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > 911 / 930 Turbo & Super Charging Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply
Registered

Garage
my '81 just dies when idling

hey guys

I have this very nice dream car a 81 turbo
trying to figure out why the car just dies when idling

HERE IS THE LONG VERSION OF THE STORY.
ALSO I'M NOT A MECHANIC BY TRADE

I bought it 4 months ago and fixing all the little things before unveiling it.

I did bring it to a Reputable Porsche Mechanic for it ppi and first full service
valve adjustment
fluids and all filters
plugs, cap & rotor
belts
brakes
etc.

he delivered the car back to me .and it sat for 3 weeks

tried taking it for a ride let it warm up and it backfired and stalled many time within a few blocks.
i made a u turn and parked it.

he picked car up

put fuel gauges on to monitor
then cleaned and adjusted the warm up regulator
replaced boost relay
replaced rear fuel pump
replaced fuel relay

car seem to run good and fast on test drive. he was driving

note: oil level gauge jumps
tach jumps when in boost

get the car back car sat for another 2 weeks

the car started right up
a puff of smoke ..cleared up in a few seconds
pulled car out of garage
car idled nicely for about 3 minuets the stalled like:
someone pulled the cord out of the wall

mechanic stopped by to checked it out

it was not a fuel issue (pumps stay running)

also
we do hear the high pitch sound(ignition box?) after the car stalls

I want to thank you all in advance for your input
I am tiring to learn as i go
and get this beauty back on the road with everything working as it should.

Old 10-01-2016, 09:48 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
Registered

Garage
update

so it is not a fuel problem.