Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > 911 / 930 Turbo & Super Charging Forum


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply
newbie
 
timspu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Devon. UK
Posts: 218
Garage
Tachno needle jumping with turn signal

Gents,

I am hoping there is a simple answer to this issue i am having.
When i have my lights on and a turn signal is working the tacho needle moves in sympathy with the green turn light on the tacho instrument. ( can move full scale)
If the hazard warning light are switched on the needle is stable.
I only get the fluctuations with the combination of turn signal and lights on. Any other combination of heater, lights etc is fine , Engine RPM does not make a difference.

I was thinking i have an alternator issue but i do not understand why the tacho needle does not jump when the hazard lights are switched on. It sounds like the turn signal and hazard lights use the same flasher relay. Do i have a ground issue on the turn signals or is this the Alternator issue. The voltage is a bit low at 13.8 volts at idle.
Just want to eliminate wiring before pulling the alternator out.

Thanks

Tim

Old 11-10-2016, 07:51 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
Turbo Powered Snow Blower
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Rocklin, CA .... Galveston, TX
Posts: 4,245
Garage
I would start by checking all the grounds for corrosion and cleaning them. The Light is searching for a way to complete the circuit and finding it through the tach.
__________________
Derrick
Old 11-10-2016, 08:05 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)
newbie
 
timspu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Devon. UK
Posts: 218
Garage
Thanks for the quick response. Will look at the grounds first. Anyone have any idea where ground studs are. Mine is an 88 Targa, I believe there is a ground stud on the left side of the car adjacent to the suspension tower, would this be the correct one?
Old 11-10-2016, 10:49 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #3 (permalink)
Registered
 
flat6pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Puyallup, Wa
Posts: 927
Garage
There should be ground points local to each turn signal corner. Following the wiring back a little bit, it should reveal a single wire exiting the loom and attached to a blank stud on the body. Like Derrick suggested, they're most likely not making good contact. Simply remove the wire terminal, clean or lightly sand and reconnect. Repeat for all if necessary. It's a common issue. <--- like that pun I used there?
__________________
-Kyle
* 1980 911SC - Widebody, turbo conversion, 930 LSD gearbox, Bitz MS-II EFI, Carerra intake, <2400lbs, 360whp @9psi.

Last edited by flat6pilot; 11-10-2016 at 01:30 PM..
Old 11-10-2016, 01:26 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #4 (permalink)
Turbo Powered Snow Blower
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Rocklin, CA .... Galveston, TX
Posts: 4,245
Garage
^^^ Ba-Dump, Crash...
__________________
Derrick
Old 11-10-2016, 01:37 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #5 (permalink)
newbie
 
timspu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Devon. UK
Posts: 218
Garage
A down to Earth comment!!

Thanks for the advice

Tim
Old 11-10-2016, 11:33 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #6 (permalink)
newbie
 
timspu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Devon. UK
Posts: 218
Garage
Any reason why this does not happen with the hazards in operation? Same lights flashing but does not cause the issue.
Old 11-10-2016, 11:36 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #7 (permalink)
Mighty Meatlocker Turbo
 
Rawknees'Turbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: North TexASS
Posts: 15,512
Quote:
Originally Posted by timspu View Post
A down to Earth comment!!

Thanks for the advice

Tim
Use caution when saying "down" in the presence of DeezNutzDerrick; he's got that move down pat!!!

Old 11-10-2016, 11:46 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #8 (permalink)
Turbo Powered Snow Blower
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Rocklin, CA .... Galveston, TX
Posts: 4,245
Garage
Shhh... I like that to be a surprise.
__________________
Derrick
Old 11-11-2016, 09:49 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #9 (permalink)
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 127
+1 on the ground issue, my bet is you'll find some corrosion in the light housing areas too.
Old 11-16-2016, 08:33 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #10 (permalink)
newbie
 
timspu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Devon. UK
Posts: 218
Garage
But why does it not happen with hazards on?
Hopefully will dig into it this weekend. Was thinking an issue with ground stud G116. Will also have a look at indicator grounds at the lights themselves.

Old 11-16-2016, 10:44 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #11 (permalink)
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

 


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:27 PM.


 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2020 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page
 

DTO Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.