Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > BMW Forums > BMW Technical Forums > BMW R1100S / R1200S Tech Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Garage
Aftermarket Shocks for a Newbie

I've been riding for 40 years, but I've never replaced shocks on a bike -- closest I ever came was installing Gold Valves on a Honda VTR1000. And I've never had a bike that I thought "this thing is unrideable, and it's because of the damn shocks!" (I did notice that the VTR rode much smoother when I was commuting as a student, with about 15 pounds of books in a tail bag; and I was surprised riding a new-to-me 748s through Idaho that I could feel each individual tar snake through the bars, whereas if I'd been riding the VTR, I would have expected just a general mushy slide while leaned over and hitting snakes. And a Burgman 650 I had tended to be wallowy when pushed hard. Those are the sum total of my suspension-related observations the whole time I've been riding.)

So I'm not a razor's-edge rider, and I'm not looking to shave another quarter second off my lap times, but EVERYBODY seems to rave about upgraded suspensions, and I can finally afford to do something to my R1100S (a bike I consider a keeper), so...

I have a short commute most of the year, longer day rides occasionally, and a week or two on the road when I can manage it. I'd like the longer trips to be more comfortable, and would be glad if I could adjust between commuting settings (not much extra weight) and distance settings (20-30 pounds in the bags & top box). I weigh probably 175-180 in my 'Stich, helmet & boots.

What should I be looking for in new suspenders?

Old 06-29-2020, 04:52 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
Registered Agitator

Garage