Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog Tech Info Tech Forums
 
  Search our site:    
 Cart  | Project List | Order Status | Help    
  We salute a legendary member of the community.
Thank you for selflessly sharing your wisdom with us...
Go Back   Pelican Parts Technical BBS > 2- BMW Forums > BMW Technical Forums > BMW R1100S / R1200S Tech Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply
Registered User
 
klennop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 516
Lightbulb Auxiliary Fuse Panel

Have any of you guys installed auxiliary fuse panels so you don't have to take all the plastics off every time you want to wire something up.

Something like these:
http://easternbeaver.com/Home/Main/Products/Fuseboxes/fuseboxes.html

If so where did you guys mount them. Pictures would be great!!

Thanks

Keith
Old 09-19-2007, 11:49 AM
  Recommend this thread for the PelicanWiki    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bryn Mawr, PA
Posts: 1,152
search under fuse box or Centech. I know somewhere there are some nice pics by someone who put a Centech AP-1 in the upper front right faring, near the fuse box.
__________________
Trex
Old 09-19-2007, 12:03 PM
  Recommend this thread for the PelicanWiki    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
klennop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 516
I was thinking under the seat but I wasn't sure if there was enough room. Hmmm......that wouldn't be a bad place for it.

I will try searching for that, I tried aux. fuse and some others but I didn't find what I was looking for.
Old 09-19-2007, 12:16 PM
  Recommend this thread for the PelicanWiki    Reply With Quote #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
klennop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 516
I found this:
http://r1100s.2zars.com/fuse/

Anyone else do anything different?
Old 09-19-2007, 12:41 PM
  Recommend this thread for the PelicanWiki    Reply With Quote #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 4,379
I have the Centech box. I took my toolkit out and mounted it there.
Old 09-19-2007, 12:47 PM
  Recommend this thread for the PelicanWiki    Reply With Quote #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
klennop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 516
Quote:
Originally Posted by jduke View Post
I have the Centech box. I took my toolkit out and mounted it there.
Under the toolkit or it took the place of your tool kit?
Old 09-19-2007, 12:51 PM
  Recommend this thread for the PelicanWiki    Reply With Quote #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 4,379
It took the place of my toolkit. I put the tools I might need or actually use into a cloth tool bag and keep it with my Dynaplug tool and Slime air pump. I keep these in the bottom of one of my saddlebags or my GIVI, depending on my load. I have thrown it in my tankbag for day trips.
Old 09-19-2007, 01:11 PM
  Recommend this thread for the PelicanWiki    Reply With Quote #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bryn Mawr, PA
Posts: 1,152
klennop -- yes, that is the site I was thinking of. I run an HID (low) headlight, so I might not have enough room up there for the Centech. Replacing the tool kit sounds good to me. Then access is just a matter of taking the seat off.
__________________
Trex
Old 09-20-2007, 06:58 AM
  Recommend this thread for the PelicanWiki    Reply With Quote #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
klennop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 516
I would like to keep my tool kit because you never know.

I like the idea of the Centech mounted up front because that is where most of the electrical stuff will be running, radar detector, GPS, etc. However with all the HID lighting stuff it might be kind of tight. Plus with that guys setup it looks like you still have to remove at least one side to add wiring to the Centech.

I was just thinking about adding that Centech for my radar detector and possibly if I get a GPS or some heated clothing down the road.
Old 09-20-2007, 07:15 AM
  Recommend this thread for the PelicanWiki    Reply With Quote #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
squall_line's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: See Der Rabbits, Iowa
Posts: 962
Is the tire repair kit storage spot big enough for a centech? That would put it closer to the front of the bike, and still easily accessible by removing the seat.

I'd go outside and take off the seat to see how big that spot is, but I'm feeling spectacularly lazy right now.
__________________
J.J.
Mandarin / Black '99 R11S-A - black YoYo clamps, black wheels, black front forks.

Former bikes: '93 R100R, '93 K1100LT, '02 R1150RT, '03 K1200GT, '97 F650ST
Old 09-22-2007, 09:58 AM
  Recommend this thread for the PelicanWiki    Reply With Quote #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
peterz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: texas
Posts: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by squall_line View Post
Is the tire repair kit storage spot big enough for a centech?
Yep, that's where I installed my fuse panel (not Centech). Plenty of room, even with a couple of mini relays for the HID lights.
__________________
2004 BCR #36 (for sale)
2010 HP2 Sport
Old 09-22-2007, 10:45 AM
  Recommend this thread for the PelicanWiki    Reply With Quote #11 (permalink)
Old 09-22-2007, 10:45 AM
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

 


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:16 AM.


 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page
 

DTO Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.