Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Boxster & Cayman Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Garage
Exclamation Brakes!

Just got a "brake wear" light on my 2000 Boxster. I have extensive experience with my early 911 but very little hands on with the boxster.
Not looking for all out competition mod's, just a good setup for maybe an occasional AutoX or maybe a DE. I do drive in the mountains regularly but seldom use the brakes that much.

Looking for a good setup and need any advise on what to look out for while doing the project. How about clearing the light/code, will this be necessary? Do the sensors need to be changed too?
Anything else?

Any advise will be appreciated!

Thanks
2006 F-150 Lariat
Gruppe B #090
Old 05-04-2007, 07:28 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

Hi

Yes, the sensors will need to be replaced - the light clears itself when the sensors are replaced (a wire gets broken in the sensor to turn the light on)

The stock Pagids\Jurids\Texstars are just fine for occasional AX or DE

Ihr Brunnen der nutzlosen Porsche Information
Old 05-06-2007, 04:43 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)

Garage
AFJuvat,

Thanks for the info. I have all the parts on order from our host and even upgraded to cross-drilled rotors on the front.
Is it going to be obvious which sensor is bad? Thought I might keep the others (providing it is worth it) for backup.

Note- I have never seen front rotors worn like mine? ( I didn't do it - I've only put 2000 easy miles on the car since buying it in January )
Is it normal for the rotors to wear to where it's (at least) an eight of an inch thicker around the outside edge than where the pads wear?

Thanks,
2006 F-150 Lariat
Gruppe B #090
Old 05-06-2007, 07:54 PM