Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Boxster & Cayman Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply
Inquisitive user

Garage
After Market Covertible Tops

As I have posted elsewhere. My plastic window in my top tore a couple of weeks after I bought my car, 1999. I have been quoted $500 for a new window. Which to me sounds high. But the top has other issues as the beading on the edges of the sides where it slides into the channels is slightly worn as well.
Just did a quick search for tops and found this. Plus it has a glass window.
Has anyone on here tried or installed one of these. Price seems to good to be true. But hey. I'm fairly new to this thing. And one thing I have found is some parts are way less expensive than I would expect. And some are just nutz.

1997-2002 Porsche Boxster Convertible Top
Thanks for your thoughts, Randy

Last edited by randy_k; 05-03-2011 at 07:10 PM..
Old 05-03-2011, 06:07 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

They look pretty good to me as well. I was considering installing it myself but am not sure. I spoke to a friend who did his own install and if he had it to do over he would use a pro installer. Hmmm...
Old 05-03-2011, 06:32 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)
Inquisitive user

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by teamwenz View Post
They look pretty good to me as well. I was considering installing it myself but am not sure. I spoke to a friend who did his own install and if he had it to do over he would use a pro installer. Hmmm...
Wonder if I could get a manual from them, without ordering the top? That would give me an indication of which way to go. Or, maybe someone on here has done it themselves?
Old 05-03-2011, 06:45 PM