Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Miscellaneous and Off Topic Forums > Off Topic Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply
Registered

Ever bought oe parts kits off E bay ?

I get people asking me about this stuff all the time. The prices seem too good to be true. Up till recently , I have had no experience with any of it .
I just bought a $600.00 Acura Tl with a bad motor, Before I put the new motor in, I figured Id experiment , and purchased what was listed as a complete OE Honda timing kit .
The packaging and labels looked legit , but the boxes, looked , and smelled very Harbor Freight to me . The tensioner , looked nothing like the last OE one I used, and the pulleys that came with the kit had more play in them right out of the wrapper, than the ones I removed with 150k on them . Something just seemed off with the water pump fitment also .
I probably saved $100 over purchasing oe from the dealer, and maybe $50 cheaper than buying a decent quality aftermarket kit. I used to use the aftermarket kits all the time, but in the last year, I have had 2 comebacks , where the hydraulic tensioner that came in the kit failed, so I quit using them all together, and have only been using oem stuff since. They were both on Honda cars
What do you think? China knock offs ? Ive got a few hundred miles on the stuff so far with no troubles, .Im curious to see how well it all holds up .

1976 930( peru red usa) ,1980 euro sc, 1974 914. 1997 M3, , 2004 Duramax 3500 quad cab dually . 2004 2500 HD Gas 1989 Yamaha xt 350. 2004 Turbo Pepperwagon, 1976 Chevrolet C 60 Rollback towtruck. 2006 x3 a few old tractors, and tons of tools
Old 09-03-2020, 06:22 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
Registered