Pelican Parts Forums

Pelican Parts Forums (http://forums.pelicanparts.com/)
-   Off Topic Discussions (http://forums.pelicanparts.com/off-topic-discussions/)
-   -   Woodworking and carpentry thread (http://forums.pelicanparts.com/off-topic-discussions/1077986-woodworking-carpentry-thread.html)

masraum 11-11-2020 08:08 PM

Woodworking and carpentry thread

I know we've got a bunch of talented wood folks here. I'm a novice at best. Dad didn't much care for wood, more of a car/motor man. My grandpa preferred wood working, but since Dad was in the military and we traveled, I never got the opportunity to learn from Gramps.

We are about to purchase a 100 year old home. I'm sure there will be projects. I'm going to need to rebuild my tool collection. I used to have a Dewalt 12" double bevel compound mitre saw, circular saw, router (really old one that was Gramps), biscuit joiner, jig saw, drill press and a cheap jobsite style table saw. I always hated the table saw. It was OK, but the fence was horrible. I've got a couple/few hand planes and a bunch of chisels that were Gramps. I think the only power tool that I still have is the router. (we downsized 6 years ago, and I got rid of most of my power tools)

I don't see myself getting another biscuit joiner although it was handy.

What tools power or otherwise do you consider indispensable for woodworking? Good table saw? Router? What about a mitre saw? Or circular saw?

Toward the end, I found the router, table saw and mitre saw useful. I had a freud dado stack set for the table saw. I've used that and I've used the router for joinery.

What's better, table saw and router? Mitre saw, circular saw and router? Anything else that you'd consider a necessity?

It seems like a good table saw is a useful tool that does a ton of stuff. I've thought "saw-stop," but wow, they are pricey! You could buy 2 or 3 other saws for the cost of a saw-stop jobsite saw.