Pelican Parts Forums

Pelican Parts Forums (http://forums.pelicanparts.com/)
-   Off Topic Discussions (http://forums.pelicanparts.com/off-topic-discussions/)
-   -   Visits to the Dentist (http://forums.pelicanparts.com/off-topic-discussions/1082101-visits-dentist.html)

RWebb 12-30-2020 11:14 AM

Visits to the Dentist

I'm wondering how many people are going to the dentist for the std. checkup and cleaning, given the pandemic...

stevej37 12-30-2020 11:21 AM

Every 3 months for cleaning.
She wears a mask and a plexi-glass shield.

stevej37 12-30-2020 11:22 AM

I should also add that I am met at the outside door by a gal with a contact thermometer.
If I don't pass that...I'm out.

RNajarian 12-30-2020 11:45 AM

I’ve been a dentist since 1991, currently I am full time faculty at a Dental School.

If your dentist is following the posted CDC and ADA guidelines you will likely have a safe experience.

The key is NOT to aerosolize. One Example: You know that “water squirty thing” (Three way syringe, it can squirt water, air or both at the same time)

Dentists are NOT to use both the compressed air and water at the same time. That creates an aerosol.

Also, offices are encouraged to use a device which resembles a hair dryer that vacuums the air near the patients mouth to eliminate aerosols.

Believe me there are many other guidelines in place. Dentistry is one of the highest risk professions out there, but with proper precautions it can be done safely

onewhippedpuppy 12-30-2020 11:45 AM

Cleanings as usual, no worries. Oldest son gets his wisdom teeth removed on Monday, poor SOB.

RNajarian 12-30-2020 11:51 AM

Here is a photo of the device. It is positioned near the patientís mouth while procedures are being done to eliminate aerosols.

http://forums.pelicanparts.com/uploa...1609361482.jpg

red-beard 12-30-2020 12:11 PM

With the mess with HIV, Dentists have had very good PPE and engineered controls in place for a long time. Very safe to go to the dentist.