Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog Tech Info Tech Forums

Search our site:    
 Cart  | Project List | Order Status | Help    
Go Back   Pelican Parts Technical BBS > 5 - Miscellaneous > Off Topic Discussions > Off Topic - Politics and Religion

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Democrats taking care of the Middle Class in NJ

Governor Corzine to middle class: Drop Dead
Posted by Paul Mulshine/The Star-Ledger March 11, 2009 5:44AM

I've been reporting from the Statehouse for 33 years now and I've heard some nutty stuff. But this has to qualify as the nuttiest line I've ever heard:

"To help pay for the rebates, we have proposed eliminating the property tax deduction next year for everyone but seniors."
Gov. Jon Corzine said it Tuesday during his budget speech. I still can't believe I heard it.

Back in 1976, when I first started reporting on the antics in Trenton, the affable and smooth-talking Brendan Byrne sold the state on adopting an income tax by arguing that it would produce revenue for the property-tax rebates.

We've now reached the point where Byrne's Democratic successor is proposing to impose the income tax on the property tax to fund rebates. Worse, those rebates will now be cut off at a mere $75,000 in annual income.

You have to make more than that just to get by in the part of the state where this newspaper circulates. So unless you're a senior citizen, not only do you lose your rebates, but you're now being taxed to give someone else a rebate.

And you're being taxed at a very high rate. As it happens, the second-highest income tax bracket, 6.37 percent, kicks in at that $75,000 level. So every cent of this new-found "income" will be taxed at the top rate that most middle-class people pay.