Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog Tech Info Tech Forums

Search our site:    
 Cart  | Project List | Order Status | Help    
  We salute a legendary member of the community.
Thank you for selflessly sharing your wisdom with us...
Go Back   Pelican Parts Technical BBS > 5 - Miscellaneous > Off Topic Discussions > Off Topic - Politics and Religion

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply
Detached Member

WTF is up with people who don't put money away?

I'm 57 y/o and if I got laid off tomorrow I could live OK for the rest of my life with, or without SS. With SS would be a bit nicer. I know so many people my age who have put away NOTHING. I have 3 families on my street out of 25 homes (HOA) who can't pay the HOA dues. Yet they have the jet skis, jet boats, RVs. I just don't get it. I've saved with 401K, IRAs since I graduated from college in 1979. I've read that the "average" savings of individuals outside of pensions and what others have put aside is only a few thousand. So I'm expected in the future to be "means tested" for SS. The message is if you don't save, someone will cover your ass, who did save.
30 Rudge Whitworth Grand Prix Ulster (Factory racer which competeted in the 1930 World Cup at the Isle of Man) Check out the British bike article I posted on my Rudge at this link http://forums.pelicanparts.com/off-topic-discussions/433622-my-1930-rudge-whitworth-british-bike-magazine-pics.html

Last edited by Hugh R; 02-15-2011 at 08:06 PM..
Old 02-15-2011, 07:55 PM
  Recommend this thread for the PelicanWiki    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
Driver

Garage
That's what I'm counting on, sugar daddy.
Old 02-15-2011, 07:55 PM
  Recommend this thread for the PelicanWiki    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)

Garage
I'm counting on Wolf Boy to keep me in the lifestyle I'm accustomed to.
05 Ferrari F-430
"If its worth doing...it's worth doing to excess"
Old 02-15-2011, 08:03 PM