Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Regional Forums > Pacific NorthWest -US (WA/ID/OR/UT/HI/AK)

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply
Slackerous Maximus

Riding a motorcycle on I-5 south of downtown in the rain.

No way man.

I saw a couple guys riding in the rain yesterday on I-5 south of downtown. Maybe I'm a newbie and a wuss to boot, but it seems like suicide. There are wide metal expansion joints that are slippery as hell when wet, the road surface is grooved and uneven, and the area around the west seattle bridge exit is like mad max land on a good day! I was in my Merc, and got off at Corson, which features aforementioned expansion joints on a tight curve. I could feel the back of car slipping a good 2 inches everytime I went over one.

Yowza!

Old 10-03-2008, 09:37 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
"farking Porsche hero"

Garage
I ride to have fun. Rain is not fun, dark is not fun, and heavy traffic is not fun, so I don't do 'em...on purpose.

2005 Ducati Multistrada 1000DS
'66 911 #303872
'07 Cayman
'58 Land Rover S2 88"
Old 10-03-2008, 09:49 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)
abides.

Garage
Two weeks ago, coming back up 101 from Long Beach (WA), I came up behind a guy on a big 'ole BMW GS something. We sped up and started having fun, and for such a big bike that thing could haul balls. It was kind of funny seeing the suspension compress so far in the corners, then lift back up as he lumbered out of the corner and away from me. Only when the curves tightened up or it started raining did I gain an advantage... a slight one at that.
Old 10-03-2008, 10:40 AM