Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Miscellaneous and Off Topic Forums > Paint, Bodywork & Detailing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Garage
Polish single stage metallic paint

Hi all,
Here to ask for experts advice about polishing a SINGLE stage Metallic paint of my 911 (gemini metallic blue)
Paint has some swirls and oxidation.

I'd like to use a dual action polisher but i'm new to single stage paints cause i generally polish modern paint (base coat + clear coat).

Reading on i see that there are a lot of bad results on polishing single stage metallic because often metal flakes became exposed to the ambient air and them oxidizes or worst-case they break away from paint turning paint from metallic to strange pastel colors

Can you please suggest tested products and pads? Or tips and tricks?
Old 08-21-2018, 01:55 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
dkbautosports.com

using a random orbital type polisher would be best in your case dealing with a single stage metallic finish.
being the metallic's used in paints are none ferrous metals they should not oxidizes any more then they do now with a single stage metallic finish. they are always exposed to the atmosphere.

with metallic's in a single stage they will float to the top of the finish when they are sprayed/ painted so buffing it will remove some and lesson the amount of metallic's your seeing.
how ever a good cleaning glaze ( not a compounding) will reduce this happening.

this is off the top of my head so the codes maybe wrong