Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Miscellaneous and Off Topic Forums > Paint, Bodywork & Detailing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply
Learned by do'n twice

Need Some Paint Advice from the Pros

I am a self-taught painter. Never did it professionally. but have painted a dozen or more cars and am now modestly competent. I've painted a couple of cars using acrylic enamel, acrylic laquer (both solid color and base/clear), and a couple of polyurethane base/clear. I mostly paint panels, not whole cars but I've painted a few.

I've run into major problems once or twice due to lack of experience such as paint lifting, paint applied WAY to dry (went on like sandpaper) and I really would like to do a decent job the first time this time.

I am hoping that with your professional experience you guys could provide some insight.

I'm getting ready to paint my son's 86 944 NA. There was a bit of body work necessary and we primed up those areas and blocked them out but just wet sanded the rest of the car. According to the PO he had a MAACO paint job a number of years (5 - 10 ??) ago so although I would like to spray a 2 stage base/clear coat polyurethane I'm going with a single stage acrylic enamel to avoid any possibility of crinkle/lifting of the, most likely acrylic enamel, MAACO paint. I've had it happen before after painting acrylic laquer over enamel and the only cure was aircraft stripper to bare metal and redo all the bodywork. A huge PITA and hundreds of hours of extra time. Any hints on avoiding this possibility would be greatly appreciated. I would also like to avoid epoxy primer, or ANY more primer if possible.