Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Miscellaneous and Off Topic Forums > Paint, Bodywork & Detailing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

DIY Glasurit

How hard is it do shoot Glasurit in your garage? I've got just a rear bumper to paint. I have a decent compressor but have to buy a gun. I have some experience with using a gun (older Binks Model 7) spraying some motorcycle bodywork. It looked like an amature's job but it was my first attempt and it was a pretty big project. The entire race fairing, seat etc. I know the body shop is going to charge an arm and a leg so thought I'd see if the experts here think it's worth a shot going it alone.

Thanks,
Jeff
......and a minivan for the crew
Old 02-03-2013, 06:54 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
dkbautosports.com

the old # 7 's worked good for lacquer paints but nothing else .
to paint a bumper or any little panel in your own garage is ok to do .
just have a clean area to spray it in . do a good cleaning of the garage wash the floor down good and have at it .
i just did a front bumper for this guys 944 at my airbrush shop yesterday (saturday)
he did all the repair , priming , prep , and i let him use the color max chips to get a perfect match for his cars color .
for a 135 dollars i mixed the color he pucked and sprayed the bumper for him .
i don't think that's a arm and a leg ? i have about 50 to 60 dollars in materials on his bumper and the rest is the cost to spray it .
if i was to just spray his bumper in the booth all by it's self the cost would go up a little to some thing like 150 dollars but i had 3 crash helmets i neede to get clear on so i just shot every thing at one time .
but even a 150 dollars i don't thing is a arm and a leg ?