Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Miscellaneous and Off Topic Forums > Paint, Bodywork & Detailing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply
Brando

Garage
dolly and hammer

On a scale or 1-10 how hard to do this style work on a fender flare for example for a absolute newbie to body work?
1 being changing an air filter and 10 being engine rebuild difficulty.
Thanks.
Old 02-04-2013, 12:14 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
non-whiner

4 to rough it out where it requires LIGHT filler as long as you put the time into it.

10 to make it perfect with no filler. This kind of bodywork is an art.
Old 02-04-2013, 12:17 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)
Brando

Garage
Thanks. I will be adding flares but if I can hammer it I might just save the origional flares. Either way I like to rtry stuff.
Old 02-04-2013, 12:56 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #3 (permalink)

Garage
I am by no means an expert on this, just a rookie.

I think the main difference between this and I.e. an engine build, is in an engine build you can actually follow a step by step guide. So this you can prepare for really well by reading up on it.

But, body work on the other hand... You definitely want to study up. However, it is really what I'd call craftsmanship.
I kind of think of it like masonry. It takes skill and practice

Not saying it can (EDIT: I mean: can't) be done. It is just more than step 1-10 and you are done.
www.stauningwhisky.dk

Last edited by jsveb; 02-04-2013 at 07:51 PM..
Old 02-04-2013, 01:23 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #4 (permalink)
Brando

Garage