Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Miscellaneous and Off Topic Forums > Paint, Bodywork & Detailing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

How do I attack this dent?

Unfortunately I bumped into the fender of my 930 so now I have to make it right again.

Dammit! by willtel, on Flickr

I have some body work and paint experience so I'm not too concerned about it but this will be the most significant dent I have tackled. With one this severe what do I do first? Go at it with a hammer and dolly or use a stud welder and slide hammer followed by hammer and dolly work?

Last edited by willtel; 09-23-2014 at 07:35 AM..
Old 09-23-2014, 07:13 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

Garage
Send a message via Yahoo to rgofast
That is definitely stretched, so you will have to do some shrinking
1999 996 Carrera Cabriolet
Old 09-23-2014, 09:40 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgofast View Post
you will have to do some shrinking
Without a doubt.

Do I start with shrinking to try and get it to come back into shape? I have some shrinking hammers I can whack it with. Would it be better to try to use a shrinking disk?
Old 09-23-2014, 10:46 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #3 (permalink)
paint huffer

knock it out as far as you can with a stud welder if available, or just a hammer, then work it with a hammer and dolly, then shrinking disc. This one wasn't as bad as yours, but shows what can be done with minimal work and no filer needed

993 collision damage
Old 09-24-2014, 05:23 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #4 (permalink)