Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Miscellaneous and Off Topic Forums > Paint, Bodywork & Detailing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Airbrushes

Hi folks. My experience with auto painting is limited to rattle cans. They work well enough for parts that aren't real visible, but I wonder if an airbrush would give a smoother, more even finish. I'm not going to do any fine detailing, but I do want the parts I paint to look nice.

Will an airbrush give me better results?

Where do you buy suitable paint to use in an airbrush? I don't need much. A pint would be plenty?

Are the levels of gloss built into the paint, or are they sprayed on top?

Thanks for any information you can provide a complete newbie.

Steve
Old 04-04-2016, 07:27 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

If I remember correctly 962porsche is very good at airbrushing. Maybe he'll chime in.

78 911sc Targa
70 911T
Old 04-04-2016, 08:42 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)
dkbautosports.com

yes i have been airbrushing sense the age of 8 so it's about 40 plus years now and no airbrushes do not work all to good for trying to do detail paint work on your car . it's not what a airbrush is made for you want to use a detail , touch up or mini gun .
the reason why a airbrush is not the best is it will give no mil build to the product your spraying .
i say all the time more material is not a good thing but the same can be said for to little mil build .

when using a airbrush your reduction rates are about the same as they are for a full size gun .