Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Miscellaneous and Off Topic Forums > Paint, Bodywork & Detailing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Garage
Question Porsche Body Repair, What Type of Steel?

Hello,

I need to make a sheet metal repair to a 1970 911 body. Can anyone tell me what type of sheet metal to use? Not as far as thickness but actual type of steel. Did Porsche use some alloy that I need to try to match? if so, where is a good source to buy from? Or can I just use any cold rolled carbon steel? Is one grade better than another for this application? The repair area is a small hole in the firewall. Not bad enough to require a new panel. I'm new to welding but this will be a MIG w/gas repair.

Thanks,

Nate
Old 06-11-2016, 02:17 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

Garage
I am doing the same , I tried using 16 G steel from Home Depot and it ws a waste , didn't feel the same . , in my case I had a parts car , I use steel from the good organs of the parts car .

If your area is not too big , I may be able to send you a small organ . Send me the dimensions .
Old 06-11-2016, 02:32 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)

Garage
Thanks for the offer. I don't want to bother anyone to donate a portion of their parts car. Unless it is a must to use some alloy I should be able to order small sheets online if I could confirm what grade or type of steel. It looks like the firewall is about 18GA steel. There is another area by the rear bumper mount that I need to replace that is .01 thicker than 12GA. With all of the rust on pre-gal. cars, what have restoration shops and others used aside from donor cars and factory replacement panels?