Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 911 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply
Even a Bad day is good

Garage
1972 911 gas tank rust cleaning

Cleaning a gas tank in the 72. i want to reuse the tank as it is in nice shape. However It was sitting empty for many years.
Here is what I tried and found out while cleaning it.

i first put fastened it to an engine stand, and put in 100 3/8" nuts and spun it a by hand. i removed and installed in a different position and spun it again.
Suggestion: build a rack to hold this with some pivot points and then you can spin and reposition. If i cleaned tanks for a living i would build a motorized device. See you tube.
So this knocked off any loose rust (suprisingly not much) but you need to get all of the nuts out of the tankwhich is not as easy as you think it would be to do.
Figuring that this was goign to take a long time.

I called a rad shop to ask them to boil it and they said the only way they work on a tank is if they boil it, cut it open, clean it out, reweld it and then seal the inside with some type of coating. The tank is in Great exterior shape so i am not inclined to have them cut it open. The cost was about 400 bucks which is worth it but I was not keen on having the tank welded.

I then researched other methods.: