Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 911 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Garage
Classic Retrofit A/C Experience & Guide

NOTE SOME PEOPLE ARE SEEING SOME OF THE PICTURES UPSIDE-DOWN. Let me know if that is the case. On my systems they all seem to be correct.

Disclaimers
This is a long one, sorry. It just kept growing and growing. I am by no means an expert, just wanted to pass along what I learned.

I paid for my Classic RetroFit (CR) A/C System and Alternator myself. I have no affiliation with CR, other than being a customer.

I live in the Florida, USA. I am tried to use Celsius as much as possible as my outside air temp gauge, my evap temp gauge, and the systems ECU all read in Celsius. I also tried to convert to Fahrenheit as much as I could but to be honest, I got tired of converting everything.

Yes, I repeat some things throughout this write up. That is mostly on purpose, because I feel they need to be emphasized, or are pertinent in several different areas.
BLUF (Bottom Line Up Front
I loved the idea of the CR A/C before I bought it and knew my particular case would be a tough installation. I also knew my climate would be about the toughest there is for an A/C system given the heat and humidity we have here. Throughout my install CR have been very supportive and helpful, even when I screwed things up myself. I did that at times, royally to be sure. They were wonderfully patient and positive.