Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 911 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply
witt

Garage
1988 Carrera quit in mid air.

Hi, after nine years of trouble free driving it finally happened:
My well maintained 1988 Carrera Cabriolet with approx. 140k miles on it, let me down during a drive on a nice sunny day.
During a flawless drive the motor just decided to slow down and no longer respond to the accelerator pedal. It kept on idling very rough but pressing the gas pedal did not do a thing. It restarted but still: rough idle and no responds to the gas pedal. No smoke, no weird noises, no smells ,no drama ! Hand operated accelerator by hand in engine compartment, no go.

I am a retired VW mechanic and have serviced the car myself but I am out of my depth with this problem. My plan now is to take a compression test to make sure the motor is sound. Du to the pandemic repair facilities may be difficult to find. The car got towed and is now in my garage.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you,
Witt.

PS: tank is 3/4 full

Last edited by witt; 05-04-2020 at 03:33 PM..
Old 05-04-2020, 01:16 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
Registered

check the accelerator pedal linkage.
on my SC it just fell off one time, panic for sure,
easy fix , look for pushrods and bell crank connections.
I hope it is just that easy for you too
Old 05-04-2020, 01:58 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)
Get off my lawn!

Garage
If you are a mechanic, it will be something you can fix. Just start reading the threads in this forum.

The classic failure is the DME relay. There are a few hundred threads on the DME relay. The other big issue if the two crank sensors. Then the coil.