Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 911 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 3.00 average.
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply
Registered

Coil suspension for my SC?

I’m new to the torsion bar suspension world. I’ve previously owned a 964 and 993. So I’m curious as to what kind of suspension upgrades you guys have done on your older aircooled 911 suspensions?

Old 12-01-2020, 08:58 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
Registered

Garage
Lots of suspension threads here...

What seems to be the most popular:

- Increasing torsion bar sizing

- Using digressively-valved shocks matched to the torsion bars

- Raising front spindles to lower ride height while maintaining suspension travel

- Playing with bushing material (various rubber durometers, rigid bronze, everything in between)

- Adjustable sway bars

- There are coil-over conversions - generally requires reinforcement of the tub

Porsche did a great job providing a platform that is infinitely adjustable - depending on what you want to do. It's easy to go overboard and make the ride harsh.

Elephant Racing has a great overview of many options...

The stock setup is sometimes hard to beat for a reasonably-driving street car.
Old 12-01-2020, 09:21 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)
Registered

I’m mostly looking for a suspension that will feel like my old 964 and take the harshness out of the torsion bars. Is that even possible without having to “reinforce the tub” as you say?
Old 12-01-2020, 09:31 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #3 (permalink)
Diss Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kansas View Post