Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 911 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Need advice on stereo installation

I want to replace the original Blau in my car with the used Pioneer stereo from my wife's car. I've never done a stereo install before so I thought I should ask for advice first. Can I reuse all the hardware from her car? Will I need to route new speaker wire? I'm not going to replace speakers at this time just the head unit. Her car is 8 years newer so I'm wondering if there is a big difference in the wiring locations and pin-outs. Thanks.

Old 12-30-2003, 08:39 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
one of gods prototypes

Garage
Send a message via AIM to bell Send a message via Yahoo to bell
easily done
first get the blau out of the dash, you'll need to remove the din sleeve too.
before you remove the blau harness have the pioneer harness ready to go.
go wire by wire and insulate the wires well (crimp caps work perfectly with a good pair of crimpers).
the colors on both units should match up, if they don't just PM me or post here and i'll walk you through it after you tell me what colors you have, the only chance they may not match up is if either radio is more than 7 years old.

to remove the blau you'll need either the removal tool or a coat hangar cut to 2 U's to insert in the 4 small holes on the face to unclip it from the din sleeve.
Old 12-30-2003, 09:07 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)

Bell,